University of Wisconsin–Madison

Leadership and Executive Staff

The Office of the Provost

The Office of the Provost provides the guiding vision and framework for the overall academic leadership and administrative management of the university. Our mission is to administer programs and policies that benefit academic staff, faculty and students, and to foster collaborations among campus colleagues that will enhance and broaden academic life at the university.

Under the leadership of Provost Sarah Mangelsdorf, the Office of the Provost staff has broad responsibility over numerous campus-wide initiatives, and facilitates and supports the wide array of academic programs and services offered by the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

View the office’s organizational chart and the list of units that report to the provost.

Chief of Staff and Vice Provosts

Lori Berquam

Vice Provost (on leave 2018-19 as ACE Fellow)

Lois Brooks

Vice Provost for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer

Lisa Carter

Vice Provost for Libraries and University Librarian

Steven Cramer

Vice Provost for Teaching and Learning

Jenny Faust

Associate Vice Provost for Strategic Initiatives and Director, Office of Strategic Consulting

Steven Hahn

Vice Provost for Enrollment Management

Jocelyn Milner

Vice Provost of Academic Affairs, and Director, Academic Planning and Institutional Research

Casey Nagy

Interim Vice Provost for Extension and Public Media

Mo Noonan Bischof

Associate Vice Provost and Director, Student Learning Assessment

Guido Podestá

Vice Provost and Dean, International Division

Jeffrey Russell

Vice Provost for Lifelong Learning and Dean, Division of Continuing Studies

Patrick Sims

Deputy Vice Chancellor for Diversity and Inclusion, Vice Provost and Chief Diversity Officer

Program Directors

Carole Kolb

Administrative Search Coordinator

Catherine Reiland

Director, Wisconsin Idea Seminar