John Zumbrunnen

Position title: Vice Provost for Teaching & Learning


Portrait of John Zumbrunnen, vice provost for teaching and learning at University of Wisconsin-Madison


Teaching and Learning

Areas of Responsibility

In collaboration with deans and other academic leaders across campus, the vice provost for teaching and learning provides leadership, coordination and administrative support for UW-Madison’s teaching and learning mission as part of the Office of the Provost.

The vice provost for teaching and learning oversees the Division for Teaching and Learning, which includes the Center for Teaching, Learning and Mentoring; Undergraduate Advising and Career Services; Student Learning Assessment; the Morgridge Center for Public Service, and the Wisconsin Institute for Science Education and Community Engagement (WISCIENCE).

The vice provost for teaching and learning also works in partnership with the vice provost for information technology on matters related to data and technology in teaching and learning, and serves as the lead representative for the Office of the Provost for the annual Teaching and Learning Symposium; the Undergraduate Symposium; the General Education Committee and the University Honors Committee.


John Zumbrunnen, professor of political science, studies the history of political thought, democratic theory and American political thought. Zumbrunnen is a past recipient of the Chancellor’s Distinguished Teaching Award, the Phi Beta Kappa Excellence in Teaching Award and the Alliant Energy Underkofler Excellence in Teaching Award. Alongside his administrative work, he continues to lead a short-term summer study abroad program in Dublin and Belfast (“UW Rebels and Revolutions in Ireland”) and, working with partners at UW-Madison and the University of Puerto Rico, co-leads a study away program in Puerto Rico (“Ecological Restoration as Civic Engagement”). Prior to taking on the role of vice provost for teaching and learning, Zumbrunnen was faculty director of Chadbourne Residential College, an educational innovation senior fellow and chair of the Department of Political Science.